Runshaw Lodge No 8537

Meetings: Merged with Euxton Lodge No 7192 – 8 December 2010

Lodge History:

The first founders’ meeting was held at the home of W.Bro Norman Duckworth on 25 April 1972. Following this, many further meetings were held at the Masonic Hall, Towngate, Leyland to discuss such matters as the name of the Lodge, regalia, fees, ritual to be used, seniority of officers etc. At this time the founders were given much guidance by the then Chairman of the Chorley and Leyland Group, W.Bro Len Holt and also W.Bro Harry Wood, PJGD. , Chairman, Leyland Masonic Hall Association.

Of the 24 founders 11 were members of Euxton Lodge No 7192 therefore it followed that Euxton Lodge should be approached to sponsor this new Lodge. This was agreed and as “Runshaw” was a district of Euxton it was also agreed that the Lodge should be named Runshaw.

The consecration ceremony was conducted by Right W.Bro. Sir Knowles Edge, Provincial Grand Master and the Installing Master for the ceremony following was V.W.Bro. Rev. Richard Kenyon Leigh, Deputy Provincial Grand Master, W.Bro. James Tomlinson Cank, as the senior founder member, was installed as the first Worshipful Master, W.Bro. William Ernest Ashworth as first Senior Warden and Bro. Harold Waddington Kearton as first Junior Warden.

The Lodge continued to meet at the Masonic Hall, Towngate, Leyland until 1990 and in September of that year all Lodges in the Group moved to the present purpose built premises at Wellington Park, Church Road, Leyland.

All the founder members were supportive of the Lodge in those early and important years but certain brethren are perhaps worthy of special mention.

On the 15 April 1991, W.Bro. Crank, a senior Grand Officer and a member of numerous Lodges and side degrees chose Runshaw Lodge in which to celebrate 50 years of service to freemasonry. 

W.Bro. Ernest Barton, our first Secretary for sterling work as the Lodge was developing.
W.Bro Eric Vessey, our first Director of Ceremonies who set the standard.
W.Bro. Fred Heathcote for his enthusiasm and dedication as Almoner both in Euxton Lodge and Runshaw Lodge.
W.Bro. Frank Woods; appointed Charity representative at the consecration and the last founder to hold office, which he relinquished in November 1993 after 19 years. W.Bro. Norman Duckworth succeeded W.Bro. Tom Rutter as Treasurer and has been responsible for proposing a total of 10 candidates into the Lodge.
W.Bro. Alan Smith followed W.Bro. Barton as Secretary and after 7 years in that position was appointed Group Secretary. In April 1996 he was promoted to PAGDC in Grand Lodge.

On the 19 November 1984 the Lodge was honoured when Right W. Provincial Grand Master Bro. Alan Fletcher Ferris, who had been Provincial Grand Director of Ceremonies at the Consecration, attended the Lodge, together with his Provincial Wardens.

On the 15 February 1999 the Lodge held a banner dedication.

The Lodge has played its full part in the Leyland and District Group and has always been generous in its charitable contributions.

The founders were determined that this would be a happy Lodge and it was.

After 36 years, Runshaw Lodge was amalgamated with Euxton Lodge on the 8 December 2010.